Notification Window

Design Excellence


Recognizing the innovative skills of Ontario architects in creating spaces, buildings and communities that respect and enhance the environment and enrich human activity.


All projects created by members of the OAA, located anywhere in the world, completed since January 1, 2013 and currently in use are eligible. Projects may represent any form of built architecture including: single buildings, groups of buildings, additions, interiors, conversions, restorations, and renovations.

Architects, intern architects, owners, users, builders, and members of the public are welcome to submit, provided the work was undertaken by a member of the OAA.

Eligibility Breakdown:

If the submitted project’s correct credit of authorship is:

  • An architectural practice – The architectural practice must have an OAA certificate of practice and one of the following must be met:

    a) the work must be done by a  practice located in Ontario.
    b) the project must be located in Ontario

  • An individual – The Individual must be affiliated with the association and one of the following must be met:

    a) they must reside in Ontario
    b) the project must be located in Ontario

Note:  Previous Design Excellence Award Finalists are not eligible.

It is the submittor’s responsibility to ensure they have provided the correct credit of authorship conforming to Section 42, subsection 31 and 34 of the Regulations under the Architects Act.  Refer to OAA Regulatory Notice R.5 V.1.0.

The complete requirements/Task List for each Award Category is outlined on the Online submission Website. Create an account to begin an online submission.