Notification Window

2019 Recognition Lunch

On Friday, May 24, a special Recognition Lunch at the Quebec City Convention Centre gave Conference attendees a chance to applaud students who won the Ontario Association for Applied Architectural Sciences (OAAAS) awards, and also celebrate the OAA’s two newest Honorary Members. Lyette Fortin was honoured for her contributions to the practice of architectural conservation and restoration in Canada, and her leadership in advocating for design excellence within the federal government. Educator, consultant and TV/radio personality David Pearson also received the designation, in recognition for his work with Science North, Vale Living with Lakes Centre and the McEwan School of Architecture at Laurentian University’s new curriculum and building as well as his collaborations with remote and First Nations communities.

OAA President Kathleen Kurtin shared the stories of Trevor Garwood-Jones and Albert Carl Rieder—the two newest members of the Honour Roll, celebrating the work of these individuals posthumously.  She also presented the teams behind the selected projects for the SHIFT2019: Infrastructure/Architecture Challenge. To cap off the event, Kurtin and Executive Director Kristi Doyle introduced the next generation of the profession by welcoming the newly licensed Architects and Licensed Technologists OAA.

Click on image to view the Slideshow: