Notification Window

2012 OAA Award Winners

The annual OAA Awards offer Ontario architects, students and interns an opportunity to showcase their best work and increase public appreciation of the services provided by the architectural profession. For inspiration, take a look at the 2011 OAA award winners gallery featured on this page.

Click on the images to advance the slide show.

Concepts & Presentations

Recognizing clarity and uniqueness of expression of an architectural idea as well as promoting the involvement of individuals in the areas of design presentation, art and other design related endeavours. 


Honourable Mention
Aaron Finbow, Intern architect


Gathering Circle at The Spirit Garden,
Prince Arthur's Landing, Thunder Bay
Brook McIlroy Architects, Ryan Gorrie 
& The City of Thunder Bay

Regina Gateway
Paul Raff, architect &
Jyhling Lee, architect (SAA)

Timeline Siteline
Honourable Mention
Sean Solowski, Intern architect &
Peter Osborne, student



This is (NOT) a Laneway
Maya Janikowski, student

Temagami Wilderness Camp
Rick Galezowski, Intern architect

The Tar Creek Supergrid
Honourable Mention
Amy Norris, Intern architect &
Clint Langevin, Intern architect

Design Excellence

Recognizing the innovative skills of Ontario architects in creating spaces, buildings and communities that respect and enhance the environment and enrich human activity.

Bay Adelaide Centre – West Tower
Toronto, ON
WZMH Architects


Bluepoint Pavilion
Phuket, Thailand
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect

Carling Residence
Nobel, ON
Tact Architecture Inc


Espace culturel Georges-Émile Lapalme
Montréal, Québec
Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux 
Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes

Mulmur, ON
superkül Inc., Architect

James Bartleman Archives and Library Materials Centre
Ottawa, ON
Shoalts and Zaback Architects Ltd. &
Barry J. Hobin and Associates Architects Inc.

Lawren Harris House
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architect


Ottawa Convention Centre
Ottawa, ON
bbb Architects Ottawa Inc.

Rideau Canal Skateway Chalets
Ottawa, ON
CSV Consultants Inc. Architects

Sisters of St. Joseph Motherhouse
Teeple Architects Inc.
Peterborough, ON

Toronto, ON
superkül Inc. Architect

Stephen Hawking Centre at the 
Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
Waterloo, ON
Teeple Architects Inc.

TIFF Bell Lightbox
Toronto, ON
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects


Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex
Mississauga, ON
Kongats Architects


Vaughan City Hall
Vaughan, ON
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects


Landmark Award

Landmark Award recognizes iconic buildings in Ontario, by Ontario architects alone or in partnership with architects from other countries. These buildings symbolize excellence in architectural design, urban design and unique community identity and make a lasting contribution to the evolution of architectural creativity. A Landmark designation recognizes the lasting contribution of the building and the architects responsible for its creation.

Ryerson Recreation & Athletics Centre
Toronto, ON
Lett/Smith Architects

Best Emerging Practice

Recognizing the contribution of young firms that have been in practice for five years or less and that demonstrate a clear vision, well-articulated goals and proven effective strategies that provide a competitive advantage.

Tact Architecture Inc.

G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Recognizing an OAA member for extraordinary service to the membership; for ‘behind-the-scenes’ dedication and action; for employing the skills and the energy to get things done.This annual award is named after the late 2005 OAA President, G. Randy Roberts. 


Ivan Martinovic

Lifetime Design Achievement Award

The Lifetime Design Achievement Award recognizes and honours a career-long commitment to the promotion and achievement in Architectural Design Excellence. This award celebrates the outstanding contribution of architects whose body of work reflects a lasting legacy of excellence and innovation. 

Raymond Moriyama

Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award

Honoring architectural excellence for projects in Ontario that cost no more than 8 million dollars. This annual award was established in 1991 by Mrs. Wanda Plachta in honour of her late husband, Michael Plachta's wish to recognize younger firms that create excellence in smaller projects.

Rideau Canal Skateway Chalets
Ottawa, ON
CSV Consultants Inc. Architects

Order of da Vinci

Recognizing architects who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the profession, in education, and/or in the community. 

Robert G. Hill

People's Choice Award

Recognizing the public's favourite project, selected by online voting from the Design Excellence Winners. 

Ottawa Convention Centre
Ottawa, ON
bbb Architects Ottawa Inc.