Notification Window

2014 OAA Award Winners

The annual OAA Awards offer Ontario architects, students and interns an opportunity to showcase their best work and increase public appreciation of the services provided by the architectural profession. For inspiration, take a look at the 2014 OAA award winners gallery featured on this page.

Click on the images to advance the slide show.


Recognizing clarity and uniqueness of expression of an architectural idea as well as promoting the involvement of individuals in the areas of design presentation, art and other design related endeavours. 


Semi [Detached]
Batay-Csorba Architects
Jodi Batay-Csorba
Andrew Batay-Csorba       

Jiigew (by the water)
Prince Arthur’s Landing, Thunder Bay, ON
spmb & Brook Mcllroy Architects



Honourable Mention
Ken O. Lum


Design Excellence

Recognizing the innovative skills of Ontario architects in creating spaces, buildings and communities that respect and enhance the environment and enrich human activity.

Algonquin Centre for Construction Excellence
Ottawa, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated
Edward J. Cuhaci and Associates Architects Inc.

Bridgepoint Active Healthcare
Toronto, ON
Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects / KPMB Architects
HDR Architecture Associates, Inc./ Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre
Toronto, ON
Kongats Architects

Centennial College Library and Academic Facility
Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Chinguacousy Park Redevelopment
Brampton, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

County of Simcoe Administration Centre
Midhurst, ON
Teeple Architects Inc. & Ted Handy & Associates Inc., Architect in joint venture

Manitoba Hydro Place
Winnipeg, MB
KPMB Architects (Design Architect)
Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect)
Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Moore Park Residence
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architects

Mount Dennis Library
Toronto, ON
G. Bruce Stratton Architects

Nova Scotia Power (NSP) Corporate Headquarters
Halifax, NS
WZMH Architects
Fowler Bauld and Mitchell, Associate Architects

Stealth Cabin
Bracebridge, ON
Superkül Inc., Architect

Stoney Creek Recreation Centre
Hamilton, ON
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. with Lintack Architects Incorporated

Through House
Toronto, ON
Dubbeldam Architecture + Design

Tommy Thompson Park Pavilions
Toronto, ON
Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc.

Victoria Park Subway Station
Toronto, ON
IBI Group Architects
Brown and Storey Architects Inc.

Sustainable Design Excellence

Recognizing an award winning Design Excellence project that in addition to meeting the Design Excellence criteria makes an exceptionally strong contribution to a sustainable environment.

Manitoba Hydro Place
Winnipeg, MB
KPMB Architects (Design Architect)
Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect)
Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Landmark Designation

Landmark Designation recognizes iconic buildings in Ontario, by Ontario architects alone or in partnership with architects from other countries. These buildings symbolize excellence in architectural design, urban design and unique community identity and make a lasting contribution to the evolution of architectural creativity. A Landmark designation recognizes the lasting contribution of the building and the architects responsible for its creation.

50 Park Road

Toronto, ON
John B. Parkin Associates
(Now NORR Limited, Architects and Engineers)

McMaster University Health Sciences Centre

Hamilton, ON
Zeidler Partnership Architects

Wandich Cottage

Peterborough, ON
Strasman Architects Inc.

Best Emerging Practice

Recognizing the contribution of young firms that have been in practice for five years or less and that demonstrate a clear vision, well-articulated goals and proven effective strategies that provide a competitive advantage.

Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc.

G.Randy Roberts Service Award

 Recognizing an OAA member for extraordinary service to the membership; for ‘behind-the-scenes’ dedication and action; for employing the skills and the energy to get things done.This annual award is named after the late 2005 OAA President, G. Randy Roberts. 

Susan Ruptash

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Design Achievement Award recognizes and honours a career-long commitment to the promotion and achievement in Architectural Design Excellence. This award celebrates the outstanding contribution of architects whose body of work reflects a lasting legacy of excellence and innovation.

Jerome Markson

Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award

Honoring architectural excellence for projects in Ontario that cost no more than 8 million dollars. This annual award was established in 1991 by Mrs. Wanda Plachta in honour of her late husband, Michael Plachta's wish to recognize younger firms that create excellence in smaller projects.

Mount Dennis Library
Toronto, ON
G. Bruce Stratton Architects

Order of da Vinci

Recognizing architects who have demonstrated exceptional leadership in the profession, in education, and/or in the community.

Gordon Grice

People's Choice Award

Recognizing the public's favourite project, selected by online voting from the Design Excellence Winners.

Through House
Toronto, ON
Dubbeldam Architecture + Design